Hi everyone,

last week was once again the final Friday of the month (26th of March) and thus time for our twitter-based #fridaygeotrivia trivia contest.

The March 2021 geotrivia question:

“Name countries and territories that officially use the currency of another country (or currency block).”

Note, we were looking for legal use of the non-local currency, not de facto usage. Also incorrect are cases of currency pegs, where a local currency exists, but is tied to another. While most countries have their own currency, some don’t. Usually these are smaller countries, where it is deemed too expensive to maintain the infrastructure of a national currency. In other cases countries have chosen to “Dollarize” or “Euroize” as a way to bring stability to their economy.

Of course, there is no reason to wonder which currency is used in a particular territory, our geocoder returns currency information as an annotation.

Here’s the #fridaygeotrivia twitter thread, click through to see the discussion:

As always, thanks to everyone who joined in. It was fun.

The geotrivia answer:

  • AUD - KI, NR, TV
  • CHF - LI
  • EUR - AD, MC, ME, SM, VA, XK
  • NZD - CK, NU, PN
  • USD - BQ, EC, FM, MH, PA, PW, SV, TC, TL, VG

Happy geocoding,