Hi everyone,

welcome to July 2021 #fridaygeotrivia!

As is our tradition, on the final Friday of month on twitter under the hashtag #fridaygeotrivia we run a geotrivia contest. Afterwards we post the answers here on the blog. See below for how to play.

The July 2021 geotrivia question:

Name countries that border at least three of the “Seven Seas”.

This of course immediately raises several questions? First up, “What is a country?” As usual with #fridaygeotrivia a country is a territory with an ISO code or forwhich twitter supports an emoji flag. But the bigger question is “What are the seven seas?” As with most things geo, there are several different interpretations. For our purposes we’ll be using EITHER the “Early Modern” definition, which is:

  • the Pacific Ocean
  • the Atlantic Ocean
  • the Indian Ocean
  • the Arctic Ocean
  • the Mediterranean Sea
  • the Caribbean Sea
  • the Gulf of Mexico

OR the “Modern” definition, which is:

  • the Arctic Ocean
  • the Indian Ocean
  • the North Atlantic Ocean
  • the North Pacific Ocean
  • the South Atlantic Ocean
  • the South Pacific Ocean
  • the Southern (or Antarctic) Ocean


#fridaygeotrivia is a game with two prizes:

  1. the sheer joy of geographic knowledge and pedantry.

  2. the bragging rights of getting the answer first.

The Twitter thread:

The Winner

Well done to Dave McLaughlin, second place was a tie between Steve McLeod and Derick Rethans

Additional reading

If this question has piqued your interest in the geography of bodies of water, you may enjoy our twitter thread about geocoding the oceans.

The geotrivia answer:

  • Australia (Indian, South Pacific, Southern)
  • Canada (Arctic, Atlantic, Pacific)
  • Chile (South Atlantic, South Pacific, Southern) - if you count their Antarctic claim
  • Cuba (Atlantic, Caribbean, Gulf of Mexico)
  • France (Atlantic, Caribbean, Indian, Mediterranean, Pacific)
  • Indonesia (Indian, North Pacific, South Pacific)
  • Mexico (Caribbean, Gulf of Mexico, Pacific)
  • Norway (Arctic, North Atlantic, South Atlantic)
  • Russia (Arctic, Atlantic, Pacific)
  • United Kingdom (Atlantic, Mediterranean, Indian, Pacific)
  • United States (Arctic, Atlantic, Caribbean, Gulf of Mexico, Pacific)
One can debate whether South Africa might qualify with South Atlantic, Indian and Southern ([the Prince Edward Islands](https://twitter.com/OpenCage/status/1412725659122683906)).

How to play

Anyone can join in, you just need a twitter account. Please note - these edition of the game was played long ago - these days we play on Mastodon, not twitter.

  • Reply to the question thread on twitter (embedded below) using the hashtag #fridaygeotrivia in your answer.

  • Only one answer per tweet

  • While you can use a map, please do NOT use the internet to just search for an answer. That is cheating and will lead to seriously bad geokarma.

  • To get full points for an answer it is good form not just to name the relevant country but (if possible) to include the emoji flags of the country.

Some people have complained the format is a bit chaotic and hard to follow. Yes, the mad chaos is part of the fun. Embrace it. The goal is just to have fun and learn. We win by playing

Happy geocoding,